Homecoming

This was originally written with my mother-in-law in mind as she was dying. A friend sent it back to me when my own mother passed. As I contemplate another funeral, another loved one coming home to Heaven…

God’s left the porchlight on.
His Son’s come in
saying he has a friend expected over.
She should be on her way
any minute now.

She lingers on the road to heaven,
letting the ties of this world loosen gently.
She fingers the flowers, velvet smooth petals
caressing her skin along the path.

She pauses to contemplate the views,
the vistas of the setting sun
tinting magenta the clouds.
She takes a last inhalation
of the scents of creation,
disentangles from the the last remaining
strand to earth.

A light beckons just ahead.
Hear a greeting, calling a name, hers.
He says, “We’ve been expecting you.
Come in daughter, friend of my Son,
so good to see you here.
Your bed has been turned down
with fresh linens
and refreshments are on the table.
Jesus, pull her up a chair.”

c. Darlene Moore Berg

6 Comments

Filed under Life, Religious

6 responses to “Homecoming

  1. Brian

    I am thinking of Laura this morning as I read these comforting words.

  2. Sending my love and prayers…

  3. diane

    very comforting to any of us who have lost a loved one..i am thinking of you and your family.

  4. Sad for those left behind – but lovely picture of a welcome home.

  5. Darlene, this poem is absolutely beautiful and classic! I’m reminded of Edna St. Vincent Millay’s “Blue Flag in the Bog”. Your poem is totally unlike hers format, etc. , but the thought contents mirrors that poem.

    I believe that I will be like that–lingering on the way to Heaven, as I so dearly love the beautiful things of earth!

    Your work is outstanding. Keep it up! 🙂

Leave a Reply

