Winter Seasons

This am the temperature was reported at a balmy minus 6 degrees. We noted a slight draft from under the door to the deck.

a wind blows through my life
the chill of uncertainty

the drafts that wriggle in
between the poorly caulked
windowpanes and doors

the cool touch of doubt
flickers enthusiasm’s flame

I stretch from my comfortable
armchair existence
to stoke the dying embers

adding wood chip kindling
from the cords of God’s Word

I bask in the hiss and sizzle
of His love’s un-consuming
everlasting fire

With prayer, weather-stripping seals
the unsettled cracks in my house of faith

I blanket myself in raiment
of His holy delight.

c. Darlene Moore Berg

2 Comments

Filed under Religious

2 responses to “Winter Seasons

  1. Good morning, Darlene

    “…the cords of God’s Word…” Wonderful!

    Our home began as a cottage in the 1940s. Over the last decade, we have rebuilt it from the inside, with the good help of many people. It will never be “finished” and that’s fine too! But it sure is warmer.

  2. diane

    i love your words, “I bask in the hiss and sizzle of His love’s un-consuming everlasting fire”…

Leave a Reply

