We Are All Eve’s Daughters

This poem appeared in Bellowing Ark about 7 years ago and again in the very short lived journal Three.One.Six.

We Are All Eve’s Daughters

I chafe under any command
I do not understand the reasoning behind.
I resist a simple, “Go”, with “Why?”
A “Do this” with “What will it accomplish?”
And a “Do not touch” with “What would be
the ramifications if I did?”
Ready to listen to any serpent’s lies.

Simple obedience.
A skill not innate in woman.
God must have seen the complications
of an estrogen influenced mind.
The delicacy of hormonal balance,
the female curves—
her circular line of reasoning,
the logic that escapes a male perspective.

I cannot say I would not have caressed the apple,
tasted its crisp tart flesh.
We learn the hard way to resist temptations,
and Eve had no practice, no training.
And with all my self-imposed discipline,
sometimes there is a giving in…
Not perhaps over apples, but other delights:
ice cream, chocolate fudge,
and other indulgences of a fleshly existence.
There will always be a fascination
with the forbidden…
and Satan has a very smooth line.

c.Darlene Moore Berg

4 Comments

Filed under Religious

4 responses to “We Are All Eve’s Daughters

  1. I recently came across your blog and have been reading along. I thought I would leave my first comment. I don’t know what to say except that I have enjoyed reading. Nice blog. I will keep visiting this blog very often.

    Alena

    http://ovarianpain.net

  2. It took me years to realized that at the heart of many of my sins and weaknesses was “self indulgence.” Your poetry expresses it very effectively. I have a problem wanting what I “see.” Eve “saw” the fruit….and ate it. I will use this poem in a study I’ll be conducting with the international women which is a study of the 1st few chapters of Genesis.

  3. I don’t think I’ve read this one before. M.

Leave a Reply

