Day One


As a pediatrician it is part of my privilege in examining newborns babies to hold their feet and check their reflexes. I am posting this poem today in honor of all those who work in Crisis Pregnancy Centers, and for our local PPRC and its upcoming fundraising banquet.

Day One

I clasp a fragile wonder—
toes perfectly formed
grasping my thumb,
curling around the pressure
of a caring touch.

I caress a newborn’s tiny foot,
hold an extremity of a miracle,
the little kicking message
saying “world, I am come”.

c.Darlene Moore Berg

2 Comments

Filed under Life

2 responses to “Day One

  1. Judge

    This poem is so like you, Darlene! the Lord has certainly given you a privilege position as one of the first to welcome new life! Dianne

Leave a Reply

