Mary, at the Cross

This poem made its debut in the mid 1990’s as part of a Good Friday service at New City Fellowship in University City,MO. It was the first in what became a series of poems I wrote centered around various women of the Bible.

Mary, at the Cross

A drop of blood
slowly falls
from His foot, lands
close to where I stand.
I close my eyes to
the anguish
in His face,
cannot close off
the anguish
in my heart.
As a mother
I would gladly
trade His place,
stretch out my arms,
embrace the wood,
the nails–-
Let them pierce me, instead.

God, I am not angry with You.
I hurt, am bewildered.
After all
He is Your Son, too.
What does His dying here
prove?

c.Darlene Moore Berg

1 Comment

Filed under Easter, Religious

One response to “Mary, at the Cross

  1. Reblogged this on Darlene's Poetical Pursuits and commented:

    Spring and Good Friday today, Easter is only two days away

Leave a Reply

