Friendship Quilt

Friendship Quilt

While browsing through an antique showroom
a quilt entices my eye
Fresh strawberries and light cream.
I wend my way past frayed chairs,
tea-colored lace, rose-bedecked English teapots.

Gently I unfold the layers
to display a pattern: Dresden Plate.
Names embroidered in circular spokes—
Friendships, relationships time forgot,
remembered in hot pink threads.

A purchase, I bring it home
to fit my master color scheme,
grace beautifully my Jenny Lind bed.
A stranger, a circle of unknown friends,
greets me with their blessing every night.
I whisper, “God be with you, too”
and turn out the light.

c.Darlene Moore Berg

reblogged for National Quilting Day

2 Comments

Filed under Life

2 responses to “Friendship Quilt

  1. Heart-warming poem…I feel this way about my Prayer Shawl. It came with a card that says,”As you wrap yourself in this shawl,/I want you to know that I am praying/for you.”

    Beautiful quilt and photo too!

  2. Reblogged this on Darlene's Poetical Pursuits and commented:

    Happy National Quilting Day

Leave a Reply

