Pest Control

This morning I watched with amazement the number of insects flying around my yard. Walked out and snapped a photo of the damage they were doing and then decided to post this poem.

Pest Control

“Get rid of all bitterness, rage and anger, brawling and slander, along with every form of malice.” Ephesians 4:31

I’ve swatted a dozen little gnats of spite today,
picked off ticks of jealousy and envy.
I must have missed a spot or two with my insect repellent.
Mosquitos of mischief buzz in my ears.
I refuse to listen to their whine.

Silverfish of slander soil my unguarded words.
Cockroaches of suppressed anger creep out
from hidden recesses.
I’m checking my foundation for the tell-tale burrows
of bitterness, the termites that destroy any structure,
undermine floorboards of compassion.

It’s past time, I’ve had enough.
I’m calling in the Exterminator…
Words alone do not do the trick.
I need the Spirit of God himself
to clean out this pestilence.
He’ll get into every nook and cranny,
fumigate, destroy these fruit flies of devilry,
the maggots of malice,
clear out all remnants of infestation.

I’ve signed a long term service contract
for full protection even though it requires
daily renewal and application.
Christ already paid the fee.

c.Darlene Moore Berg

1 Comment

Filed under Religious

One response to “Pest Control

  1. Wow, quite a photo, poem duo here. Powerful combination!

Leave a Reply

