All in a Name

All in a Name

When I wake up in the night
I call out Abba:”Daddy”
that is my name for you, Lord
when I feel small, alone, frightened.

When I sit quietly in the morning light
I address you with respect
“Lord God Almighty”
“Father in Heaven”

When I stand before the sky at twilight
the magnificence of a sunset
the starry wonder of the Milky Way
I bow before you, The Creator.

When I touch the tears of fright
the cries of childhood pain
I call on you, the God of Mercy,
the Great Physician, the Lord of Healing.

When I join in worship I feel your Might,
the glory, the awe, the strength of your Hand
I call out Holy, Holy, Holy
I fall before the Lord of All.

When I make a mistake, admit I’m not right
I call to you, my Savior, I speak
to you my friend,
Jesus, the slain Lamb,
Find forgiveness in your touch.

“I am”, He is. You Are. the bright and morning star.
Provider, Creator, Savior
Lord of Lords
When I lift my voice and sing
I rejoice in You, the King of Kings.

c. Darlene Moore Berg

3 Comments

Filed under Religious

3 responses to “All in a Name

  1. Darlene, I absolutely love your poem “All in a Name.” One name could never capture all of His attributes.

  2. Ditto what Arlene said.

    Are these new poems, Darlene? They’re wonderful – very moving.

  3. This is one of my older “pre-Utmost” poems.

Leave a Reply

