Prayer Closet, Anyone?

Prayer Closet, Anyone?

I need to find a closet somewhere,
a little space and time for hidden prayer.
with windows open to heaven’s lofty air

A place lit by God’s bright and morning star
with just room enough to huddle there
alone upon my knobby, dimpled knees:
find solitude where I can whisper desperate pleas.

A closet where the baggage of this world
straddled and stacked across my aching back— won’t fit,
no space inside to stack up worries on the floor,
I can toss them down, leave them piled beside the door

A time and space for just me and God, my Father
where He will bend His ear to my lonesome face
and I can hear Him undisturbed, and not-distracted
where He will take away the stains of self-disgrace,
bathe my wounds with welcome grace

cJune04 Darlene Moore Berg

1 Comment

Filed under Religious

One response to “Prayer Closet, Anyone?

  1. Pingback: World Spinner

Leave a Reply

