“Come, Have Breakfast”

Come, Have Breakfast

He pours into a pristine white mug
a cup of rich, red rooibos tea
sweetened with spice— cinnamon, cloves,
a hint of cardamon.
The toast on my plate
is a golden brown, perfect slab
of whole grain wheat.
A pot of honey is on the table,
a pitcher of fresh cream..
A swirl of steam rises into the air,
the mist in my eyes.
Enough, that He invites me here,
pulls out my chair,
requests my presence in His life,
offers His life in mine.

Time to sip and break my night’s fast
with the Savior,
listen, attentive, to His Words today.

c. Darlene Moore Berg

1 Comment

Filed under Religious

One response to ““Come, Have Breakfast”

  1. Another wonderful poem… lovely reminder to spend time with Him daily. Thanks

Leave a Reply

