A Letter to Martha in Holy Week

A Letter to Martha, Holy Week

Dearest Martha,
I have followed our Lord to Jerusalem
to watch his entry in triumph into the city.
The disciples whisper excitedly among themselves
that He may be proclaimed — King.
I am not sure what this will mean…
It doesn’t quite fit with the Teacher we
both know and love…
He has no army, no legions.

Oh, Sister! You should have heard
the “Hosannas” ring.
The people called Jesus, “Son of David”,
coats were flung down before him,
palms waved.
He rode into the city
on a young colt of a donkey.
Children clapped and sang as He
entered the gates into Jerusalem.
It was wonderful, fantastic.
And before anyone realized it
He was beyond and into the city proper
and the crowds melted away…

Daily I listen to our Teacher speak in the
Temple courtyard. I do not understand
why the priests do not listen to Him.
They ask Him questions but appear
not to like or understand His answers.
There is an undercurrent, a fear, I do not like.

Martha, you would be proud of me.
I worked all evening helping to serve
the Passover supper of preparation
for Jesus and his Twelve disciples.
I am tired. I had trouble following all
the Teacher had to impart tonight.
He and the Twelve have gone out to pray,
all but Judas. He left early in the evening.
I plan to retire after the cleanup is done.

Martha! Martha! I need you here—NOW!
Jesus is arrested and on trial.
At this very moment He stands before Governor Pilate.
I am numb with terror. The word is that the High Priest
and the Sanhedrin are pushing for a crucifixion.
Drop everything and come immediately!
I don’t know what to do!
Please hurry. You must arrive before sundown
and the start of Sabbath.
Love,your dearest sister, Mary.

c.Darlene Moore Berg

1 Comment

Filed under Easter, Religious, Seasonal

One response to “A Letter to Martha in Holy Week

  1. Isaiah Carmona

    Darlene, I sincerely and thoroughly enjoyed this writing. It truly made me try to place myself in the times, and what my own words would be if I had been witness. Your writing took me there. Thank you for your words.

Leave a Reply

