Adjustable

Adjustable

The hidden elastic in the waistband of my jeans,
expansion and contraction.
The length of a necklace with jewel-necks, collars, turtlenecks.
Belts, belt-notches.
Hemlines, pant leg inseams for heels or flats.
It matters. Appearances, adaptability

Dreams, whittled down or inflated to new heights.
What am I capable of being or doing?
Has my vision been tunneled. Narrowed to within inches
of my face?
Am I too much concrete, realist to jump into what?
Has my faith limitations? Open to the inexplicable,
contemplation of miracles, hope beyond endurance?
A line I need to cross?

c.Darlene Moore Berg

Leave a comment

Filed under Life, Religious

Leave a Reply

